Little Miss Muffet: Adapted Nursery Rhyme

LittleMissMuffet

I am continuing to add to my nursery rhyme adapted library.  I am finding that more children are not being exposed to nursery rhymes.  This one is very simple but can also be used to discuss a variety of topics.

  • What would you do if a spider sat next to you?
  • Why was Miss Muffet afraid?
  • What do you think curds and wheys are?
  • What do you eat for breakfast?

I have made two different sets of 4 adaptions of the poem. IMG_2035IMG_2027

These are activities that I do with this song:

1. Say the Poem: There are four different booklets, reader, rebus reader,rebus reader plus adapted pictures and a lyric page.

2. Sequence the Poem: This is a great poem to teach sequencing. I have included a sequence board ( First, Then, Last). I have also included a three-part sheet that can be cut apart to have the child put them in the correct sequence.

3. Coloring Page: This can be used  for the child to bring the poem home to share with the family.

Little Miss Muffet

I find that I have a variety of students that I work with and having the same story in several different editions help to support all my students. I store them in a folder then give each child the edition that is appropriate for them.

For this Nursery Rhyme, I have two different Little Miss Muffets
I use this story for a variety of students from students,preschool, kindergarten, and first graders as part of a poem choice
Fluency cases to practice smooth speech
Beginner readers

These are activities that I do with this song:

Say the Poem: There are four different booklets, reader, rebus reader, rebus reader plus adapted pictures and a lyric page.

Sequence the Poem: This is a great poem to teach sequencing. I have included a sequence board ( First, Then, Last). I have also included a three-part sheet that can be cut apart to have the child put them in the correct sequence.

Coloring Page: This can be used a take home for the child to bring the poem home.

Conversation Cards

When I am working on a book or a poem I find that there are themes that are great to work on for conversation.

In this poem, Miss Muffet becomes frightened. I have attached some conversation cards that ask the questions about what are you afraid of.
I put them on a binder ring so that a child can flip through them in the conversation.

IMG_2387

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar